

Idaho COVID-19 Vaccine Advisory Committee

Statement of Purpose

The Idaho Department of Health and Welfare (IDHW), in collaboration with local public health and other partners, has been planning to ensure the implementation of a COVID-19 vaccination effort program in Idaho, once one or more safe and effective vaccines have been approved for use by the federal Food and Drug Administration (FDA).

Governor Little directed the Idaho Department of Health and Welfare (IDHW) to convene the Idaho COVID-19 Vaccine Advisory Committee (CVAC) to advise him on and assist state and local entities with the prioritization of vaccines when they are in limited supply, the implementation of the vaccination plan, and communication about and delivery of the vaccine.

Committee members represent stakeholders from across Idaho, including the tribes, priority populations, healthcare systems and providers, and immunization organizations, ensuring equitable access to COVID-19 vaccination across the state.

Committee Membership and Chairmanship:

Dr. Patrice Burgess, Executive Medical Director Executive Medical Director, St. Alphonsus Medical Group will Chair the Committee, and Elke Shaw-Tulloch, State Health Official will serve as Executive Secretary.

Invited members will be asked to serve for the duration of the pandemic, with the anticipation that this shall be less than one year.

In addition, non-voting, ex-officio members, or their designees, will be invited, representing governmental agencies with roles in the pandemic response. Persons serving as ex-officio members will rotate off the committee if they leave their positions in the agency they are representing and that agency will designate that person's replacement.

Delegates for members will be allowed, with the approval of the Chair and Executive Secretary prior to the meeting.

All members of the committee have voting privileges with the exception of Executive Secretary and Ex-Officio members. Final decisions of the committee will be used to support decisions of IDHW and the Governor's office in making decisions about COVID-19 vaccine.

Meetings will be open to the public, in a "listen-only" mode. Public comments will only be accepted in writing, to a designated email box: <u>covid19vaccinepubliccomment@dhw.idaho.gov</u>, and comments will be distributed to the members of the committee prior to each meeting, if comments are received at least 24 hours before the start time of the meeting.



Conflict of Interest Policy:

Recommendations made by committee members should always be based solely on the best interest of the IDHW and the people of Idaho. Decisions should not be influenced by personal financial interest or by other extraneous considerations. Any affiliation with an organization having fundamental goals that conflict with the IDHW and CVAC mission should be avoided.

A potential conflict of interest exists when a committee member has a relationship or engages in any activity or has any personal financial interest which might impair his/her independence or judgment or inappropriately influence his/her decisions or actions concerning CVAC matters.

Each committee member has a duty and obligation to disclose to the entire committee any potential conflict of interest and to abstain from any decision where a significant conflict of interest exists. Ultimately, it is the responsibility of the entire committee to determine what, if any, limitations on activities regarding the committee member's conflict are required to protect the CVAC.

Authorities:

The committee has no expressed or implied power or authority.

Meetings:

Meetings will be held ad hoc as called by the Chair and Executive Secretary.

A majority of the committee members shall constitute a quorum. Voting will be by consensus decision making, with a simple majority rule.

IDHW will keep a copy of the committee meeting notes which will be provided to the public upon request.

The committee will review its Statement of Purpose at the first meeting and review it at least biannually and recommend any proposed changes to the Chair and Executive Secretary for review.